Tackle It Tuesday – Selling books on Amazon.com

I have a sack of books sitting by my desk that are looking for a home. They are books that my oldest daughter brought back from college with her, but which didn’t make the cut to the bookshelf in her new place. They are books I have culled off the shelves of my own bookcase in the family room. Their presence makes me feel guilty – they need to be on a bookshelf or nightstand somewhere, not in a grocery sack on the floor. So I have set out to find them a new home.  It’s the least I can do for them.

frankenstein_signet

Amazon.com is helping me in this quest.  I have listed them on Amazon, and have already found homes for a few lucky paperbacks so far.  For example, Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein will be leaving us today for it’s new home in Winchester, CA.  A John Sparks novel left for Virginia yesterday.

It was all extremely easy.  You just type in the little ISBN number on the back of the book, determine the condition of the book (be honest) and set a price.  I listed about a dozen books in maybe 7 or 8 minutes, and had 2 books sold by the end of the day.

And the money that will come from this, while not a great deal, will be set aside for something fun.  Maybe a trip to our favorite frozen yogurt place for a special treat with all the trimmings.  A sweet reward for tackling a project and reducing some clutter.  :)

Leave a Reply

